Children's Book Awards

Click here to return to the Youth Services page. 

Newbery Award 
Newbery Award—the most
distinguished contribution to
American literature for children.

Caldecott Award
Caldecott Award—given to
the artist of the most distinguished
 American picture book for children.

Mark Twain Award
Mark Twain Award—selected by students in grades four through eight and presented annually to a living United States author.

Show Me Award
Show Me—selected by students in
 grades one through three and
presented annually.

 Missouri Building Block Picture Book Award
Missouri Building Block Picture Book Award-- presented annually to the author and illustrator of the picture book voted most popular by preschool children in Missouri's public libraries.

Gateway Award
Gateway Award--presented annually to the author of a young adult book in order to encourage reading among young adults and spawn interest in young adult literature.

Coretta Scott King Award

Coretta Scott King Award— authors and illustrators of African descent whose distinguished books promote an understanding and appreciation of the "American Dream."

Michael L. Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association.

Click here to return to the Youth Services page.